Council Elections in Bihar and AP on July 6, Election Commission

– globalbihari bureau

New Delhi: Polling for biennial elections to nine seats of Bihar Legislative Council and one seat of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council will will take place on July 6 this year, the Election Commission announced here on Monday.

The term of nine members of Bihar Legislative Council elected by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) had expired on May 6, 2020. These members are Ashok Choudhary, Krishan Kumar Singh, Prashant Kumar Shahi, Sanjay Prakash, Satish Kumar, Radha Mohan Sharma, Sonelal Mehta, Md. Haroon Rashid, and Hira Prasad Vin.

There was one casual vacancy in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council after Dokka Manikya Vara Prasad resigned on March 9, this year. His term was expiring on March 29, 2020.

With regard to Bihar, the Election Commission clarified that considering the prevailing “unforeseen situation of public health emergency due to COVID-19 and the guidelines and orders passed under the Disaster Management Act, 2005 by the competent authority, the Election Commission, on 03.04.2020 passed an Order under Article 324 of Constitution of India read with section 16 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951,and directed that the process of election to the above mentioned seats shall be initiated at a later date after reviewing the prevailing situation.”

In case of Andhra Pradesh, the EC said that after receiving inputs from CEO, Andhra Pradesh, it decided to hold a bye-election to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council by the members of the Legislative Assembly to fill the vacancy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *